Schedule announced for the 2017 Great Plains Journalism Awards. Buy your tickets to attend the banquet and workshops

We are a week away from the Great Plains Journalism Awards, sponsored by the Tulsa Press Club.

Registration starts at 11 a.m. The event starts at 11:30. The event is at the Mayo Hotel, 115 W. Fifth St. in Tulsa, Okla.

Here is the schedule for the day:

11:30 a.m.: Luncheon begins with emcee Jennifer Loren, presentation of the Dan Harrison Memorial Scholarships, and keynote speech from Anthony Mason, distinguished lecturer and CBS News anchor

1:15 p.m.: Q&A with Anthony Mason

2 p.m.: Reporting Today with Hailey Branson-Potts

3 p.m.: Life in Real Time with Mark Potts

4 p.m.: On the Scene with Hailey Branson-Potts and Mark Potts

5 p.m.: Reception

Tickets to the luncheon are $40 or $35 for media personnel. Afternoon conferences are free to attend. Tickets can be purchased at or contact Kelly Nash at 918-583-7737 or

Thank you to our sponsors: Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma, Cherokee Nation Businesses, Citizen Potawatomi Nation, Hillcrest HealthCare System, ONEOK, ONE Gas, Trust Company of Oklahoma, Tulsa Community College, Tulsa World

The event’s distinguished lecturer at its annual conference and awards luncheon is Anthony Mason, CBS News’ senior national correspondent and co-host of “CBS This Morning: Saturday.”

The Great Plains Journalism Awards is a regional contest honoring print, web, TV and magazine journalists for outstanding stories, photography and design. The eight-state competition includes Oklahoma, Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Iowa, North Dakota and South Dakota.

Mason got his start in Tulsa at KJRH, channel 2 before making his way through other markets until landing at CBS. There he’s covered a number of beats and is known for his interviews on “CBS Sunday Morning.”

Joining Mason as featured speakers are Hailey Branson-Potts and Mark Potts, reporter and videographer from the Los Angeles Times who won the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for breaking news coverage of the San Bernardino terrorist attack.

Hailey Branson-Potts grew up in Perry, Okla., and graduated from the University of Oklahoma. Mark Potts is a native of Enid, Okla., and graduated from the University of Oklahoma with a master’s degree in broadcast journalism. Both will present workshops to conference attendees.

Following its mission to promote high standards in journalism, the Tulsa Press Club will present its Dan Harrison memorial scholarships to winners in five student categories. Students in attendance also will have the opportunity to have portfolio reviews with Mason.

For sponsorship information contact Kelly Nash at and 918-583-7737.

2017 Finalists include:

Adam Kemp
Alyssa LaCourse
Anna Bennett
Anne Richardson
Anthony Slater
Arkansas Democrat Gazette
Arkansas Democrat Gazette Magazines
Arshia Khan
Barbara Soderlin
Ben Luschen
Ben Vankat
Berry Tramel
Betty Casey
Bill Sitzmann
Blake Nelson
Blythe Bernhard
Bonnie Bauman
Brandy McDonnell
Brendan Sullivan
Brian Christopherson
Brian Fanney
Brian Goodman
Brian Powers
Brianna Bailey
Bruce Plante
Bryan Clemmer
Bryan Terry
Burt Mummolo
Carla Walker
Carmen Troesser
Cate Folsom
Cecil Sunny-Philip
Charles Trimble
Chris Landsberger
Christopher Smith
Christopher Marshall
Cindy Gonzalez
Cindy Lange-Kubick
Clifton Adcock
Cody Stavenhagen
Cory Young
Courtney Crowder
Dalton Stewart
Dan Holtmeyer
Dan Martin
Daniel Neman
Darla Slipke
Dave Croy
Dawn Araujo-Hawkins
Dirk Chatelain
Doug Meigs
Doug Moore
Doug Stremel
Doug Thompson
Douglas Wesselmann
Dylan Goforth
Elias Brinkman
Emily Walkenhorst
Erica Wilson
Erik Horne
Erin Grace
Ethan Erickson
Evan Hill
Francis Gardler
Grant Rodgers
Greg Jerrett
Haylee Pearl
Henry Cordes
Ian Froeb
Ian Lawson
Ian Maule
Jaclyn Cosgrove
Jacob Zlomke
Jadyn Watson-Fisher
James Vnuk
Jan Biles
JB Forbes
Jeannie Roberts
Jeff Koterba
Jenni Carlson
Jenni Leiste
Jennifer Palmer
Jerry Wofford
Jesse Bogan
Jessica Seaman
Jessica Thompson
Jessie Wardarski
Jim Beckel
Jimmie Tramel
John Brummett
John Deering
John Clanton
John Sykes, Jr.
Jon Welsh
Jordan P. Hickey
Josh Renaud
Judith Newmark
Kathy Bolten
Katie Bridges
Katie Myrick
Kelley Lane
Kelly Brant
Kelly Hines
Ken Davis
Kesley Ryan
Kevin Canfield
Kiley Roberson
Kristen Hoffman
Kristen Shanahan
Kristin Dickerson
Kurt Steiss
Lauren Freking
Laurie Skrivan
Lisa Hammersly
Mackenzie Ryan
Madeline Crawford
Marc Dillard
Margaret Riedel
Mariam Makatsaria
Marisa M. Cummings
Mark Cooper
Matt Gade
Matt Haney
Matt Jones
Matt Wieczorek
Matthew Hansen
Maxx Crawford
Meera Nagarajan
Megan Smith
Megan Farmer
Melissa Howell
Micah Mertes
Michael Todd
Michael Zamora
Mike Brown
Mike Reilly
Mike Simons
Mike Wyke
Mitchell Masilun
Morgan Chilson
Nancy Cambria
Nate Robson
Nathan Pettengill
Nathan Ruiz
Nicholas Hunt
Northwest Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
Oklahoma Humanities
Omaha World Herald
Pam Miller-Jenkins
Paul Sawyer
Paul Goodsell
Paul Monies
Peter Salter
Ray Carter
Rett Peek
Richard Hall
Robert Cohen
Rodney White
Russell Dorsey
Russell Hubbard
Ryan Soderlin
Sam S.
Santiago Carlos Ayulo
Sarah Hoffman
Sarah Baker
Sarah Baker Hansen
Sarah Hoffman
Sarah Phipps
Sauce Magazine
Scott Cherry
Seth Jones
Shane Bevel
Shelly Bryant
Sierra Winrow
Silas Allen
Stephen Deere
Stephen Thornton
Stetson Payne
Steve Lackmeyer
Steve Gooch
Steven M. Sipple
Stewart Cole
Tabitha Levi
Tammy Yttri
The Baker Orange
The Daily O’Collegian
The Des Moines Register
The Oklahoman
Thomas Thoren
Tim Parks
Tim Sacco
Tim Watson
Tod Robberson
Todd Cooper
Todd Pendleton
Topeka Capital-Journal
Torren Thomas
Trevor Brown
Tulsa World
Tulsa World Magazine
Warren Vieth
Wyndham Wyeth
Ziva Branstetter

Conference workshops are free to attend. Awards luncheon tickets are $40 for individuals, and $35 for students or media personnel. Tickets are available at

The Tulsa Press Club was founded in 1906 as a members-only professional organization offering networking, education events and social opportunities. The Tulsa Press Club promotes the highest standards in journalism with an emphasis in recognizing young journalism talent through its annual scholarship initiatives. Visit for more information.

This entry was posted in 2017 Contest. Bookmark the permalink.